Oscars snub Ruth Negga, Marlee Matlin, Peter Dinklage, Denis Villeneuve, The French Dispatch, The Green Knight, among others

The nominations are in!

Image courtesy of Loren Javier.

Image courtesy of Loren Javier.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences revealed their nominations for the 94th Academy Awards to be held on 27 March 2022.

There were some striking absentees from the nominations; not limited to but including:

  • Ruth Negga who was passed over for her performance in the Netflix drama Passing earned a Screen Actors Guild Award nomination last month. 
  • Marlee Matlin who earned rave reviews for her performance in Apple’s comedic drama CODA as the mother of a singing child of deaf parents failed to receive a Best Supporting Actress nomination for 2022 — her onscreen husband, Troy Kotsur, made history as the first male deaf actor to be nominated.
  • Peter Dinklage who received high praise for his turn as thwarted lover and wordsmith Cyrano de Bergerac in Cyrano was overlooked for a the Best Actor nomination.
  • Denis Villeneuve who was celebrated by critics the world over for his vision in bringing the first instalment of the Dune saga to the screen is finding this year’s Best Director trophy to be definitively out of his reach. It’s not all disappointment for Villeneuve though; the film earned 10 nominations overall — including Best Picture and Best Adapted Screenplay for which Villeneuve will share in the nominations.
  • The French Dispatch, by Wes Anderson, was the first of the director’s films since 2007 to not receive any Oscar nominations — surprising as the film sees Anderson at peak form in terms of production design, cinematography, costumes and makeup. 
  • The Green Knight, director David Lowery’s largely triumphant adaptation of the 14th century poem ‘Sir Gawain and the Green Knight,’ was overlooked in numerous categories that the Oscars usually recognise such as production design, costume design, visual effects and cinematography. Dev Patel's lead performance, as Sir Gawain, was also overlooked.

Other notable exclusions include Rachel Zegler for her performance in West Side Story, Nicolas Cage for his performance in Pig and Lady Gaga for her performance in House of Gucci.

The full list of nominations, by category;

Actor in a Leading Role

Javier Bardem (Being the Ricardos)

Benedict Cumberbatch (The Power of the Dog)

Andrew Garfield (tick, tick...BOOM!)

Will Smith (King Richard)

Denzel Washington (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Actor in a Supporting Role

Ciarán Hinds (Belfast)

Troy Kotsur (CODA)

Jesse Plemons (The Power of the Dog)

J.K. Simmions (Being the Ricardos)

Kodi Smit-McPhee (The Power of the Dog)

Actress in a Leading Role

Jessica Chastain (The Eyes of Tammy Faye)

Olivia Colman (The Lost Daughter)

Penélope Cruz (Parallel Mothers)

Nicole Kidman (Being the Ricardos)

Kristen Stewart (Spencer)

Actress in a Supporting Role

Jessie Buckley (The Lost Daughter)

Ariana Debose (West Side Story)

Judi Dench (Belfast)

Kirsten Dunst (The Power of the Dog)

Aunjanue Ellis (King Richard)

Animated Feature Film




The Mitchells vs. the Machines

Raya and the Last Dragon


Greig Fraser (Dune)

Dan Laustsen (Nightmare Alley)

Ari Wegner (The Power of the Dog)

Bruno Delbonnel (The Tragedy of Macbeth)

Janusz Kaminski (West Side Story)

Costume Design

Jenny Beavan (Cruella)

Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran (Cyrano)

Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan (Dune)

Luis Sequeira (Nightmare Alley)

Paul Tazewell (West Side Story)


Kenneth Branagh (Belfast)

Ryusuke Hamaguchi (Drive My Car)

Paul Thomas Anderson (Licorice  Pizza)

Jane Campion (The Power of the Dog)

Steven Spielberg (West Side Story)

Documentary (Feature)




Summer of Soul (...Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Writing With Fire

Documentary (Short Subject)


Lead Me Home

The Queen Of Basketball

Three Songs For Benazir

When We Were Bullies

Film Editing

Hank Corwin (Don't Look Up)

Joe Walker (Dune)

Pamela Martin (King Richard)

Peter Sciberras (The Power Of The Dog)

Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum (Tick, Tick...Boom!)

International Feature Film

Drive My Car (Japan)

Flee (Denmark)

The Hand Of God (Italy)

Lunana: A Yak In The Classroom (Bhutan)

The Worst Person In The World (Norway)

Makeup and Hairstyling

Mike Marino, Stacey Morris and Carla Farmer (Coming 2 America)

Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne and Julia Vernon (Cruella)

Donald Mowat, Love Larson and Eva Von Bahr (Dune)

Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh (The Eyes Of Tammy Faye)

Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras (House Of Gucci)

Music (Original Score)

Nicholas Britell (Don't Look Up)

Hans Zimmer (Dune)

Germaine Franco (Encanto)

Alberto Iglesias (Parallel Mothers)

Jonny Greenwood (The Power Of The Dog)

Music (Original Song)

Be Alive (from King Richard); Music and Lyric by Dixson and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter

Dos Oruguitas (from Encanto); Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

Down To Joy (from Belfast); Music and Lyric by Van Morrison

No Time To Die (from No Time To Die); Music and lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O'connell

Somehow You Do (from Four Good Days); Music and lyric by Diane Warren

Best Picture



Don't Look Up

Drive My Car


King Richard

Licorice Pizza

Nightmare Alley

The Power Of The Dog

West Side Story

Production Design

Nominated for;Production DesignSet Decoration
DunePatrice VermetteZsuzsanna Sipos
Nightmare AlleyTamara DeverellShane Vieau
The Power of the DogGrant MajorAmber Richards
The Tragedy of MacbethStefan DechantNancy Haigh
West Side StoryAdam StockhausenRena Deangelo

Short Film (Animated)

Affairs of the Art



Robin Robin

The Windshield Wiper

Short Film (Live Action)

Ala Kachuu - Take And Run

The Dress

The Long Goodbye

On My Mind

Please Hold


Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather and Niv Adiri (Belfast)

Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett (Dune)

Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey and Mark Taylor (No Time To Die)

Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie and Tara Webb (The Power Of The Dog)

Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson and Shawn Murphy (West Side Story)

Visual Effects

Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer (Dune)

Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Dan Sudick ((Free Guy)

Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner and Chris Corbould (No Time To Die)

Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Noel Walker and Dan Oliver (Shang-Chi And The Legend Of The Ten Rings)

Kelly Port, Chris Waegner, Scott Edelstein and Dan Sudick (Spider-Man: No Way Home)

Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

CODA, screenplay by Siân Heder

Drive My Car, screenplay by Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe

Dune, screenplay by Jon Spaihts and Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth

The Lost Daughter, written by Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power Of The Dog, written by Jane Campion

Writing (Original Screenplay)

Belfast, written by Kenneth Branagh

Don't Look Up, screenplay by Adam Mckay; story by Adam McKay & David Sirota

King Richard, written by Zach Baylin

Licorice Pizza, written by Paul Thomas Anderson

The Worst Person In The World, written by Eskil Vogt, Joachim Trier

More from MFR